Having and being able to apply the knowledge used for assessment is perhaps one of the most fundamental skills required by an Assessor. This is where you will get to know many of the intricacies of becoming a competent Assessor. It is an important tool in the Assessor toolbox. The course is suited for anyone who wishes increase their knowledge in the principles and practices of assessment from any sector (banking, construction, general business, hotel management, dental practice etc).

0 steps completed0%
8 Lessons


The Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment is a knowledge-only qualification. It is best for suited for those who are starting their journey as an Assessor, or for those who need to know about assessment practice but who are not currently practicing. It is an ideal first step for aspiring Assessors. It can also be well suited for any sector professional who wishes to increase their understanding of the knowledge aspect of becoming an Assessor or overseas apprentice training in the workplace.  This qualification forms part of the Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA) and therefore, any one with this Award can progress to the CAVA.

  • RQF/QCF Study Level: 3
  • Credit Value: 3
  • Guided Learning Hours: 24
  • Assessment Method: Evidence for passing this course can include but not limited to:
    1. Learner portfolio consisting of short question and answer
    2. Oral Statements or answers by the candidate assessor (only for learners with Special Educational Needs),
    3. Professional Discussion(s) between the candidate assessor and their own assessor, (only for learners with Special Educational Needs).

This course would suit any of the following:

  • Individuals who are not currently in an assessor’s role, or who have just started their journey as an assessor in the further education and skills sector / private sector;
  • Anyone that is interested in knowing more about assessment or who need to know about assessment practice as part of their role;
  • For individuals who are carrying out assessments and quality assurance in teaching and learning environments including FE, adult continuing learning and general workbase settings;
  • For individuals who are not currently practicing and are planning to get into assessment and internal quality assurance in occupational sectors ;
  • For individuals who have already achieved some Education & Training or Learning & Development units that can be carried forward into this qualification;
  • For individuals who are carrying out quality assurance in all occupational sectors
  • For individuals working in accredited learning or non accredited learning (where people may assess performance but do not assess for a qualification); the NQF and the RQF.

  • All learners must be a minimum of 19 years old
  • Possess good reading & writing skills in English. B1 and above is recommended for non Native English speakers;
  • Knowledge of the subject you wish to assess;
  • A photographic proof of identification including any one of the following:
    1. Valid Passport with VISA (any nationality);
    2. Signed UK Photo Card Driving Licence;
    3. Valid Warrant Card issued by HM Forces or Police;
    4. Other photographic ID card, e.g. Employee ID Card (must be current employer), Student ID Card, Travel card, etc;
    5. Any evidence to confirm status for special needs.

Course Learning Outcomes 

The course is divided into 8 learning outcomes, which consist of a number of assessment criteria that must be met in order to achieve the qualification. These are as follows:

  1. To understand the principles & requirements of assessment;
  2. To understand different types of assessment methods;
  3. To understand how to plan assessment;
  4. To understand how to involve learners and others in assessment;
  5. To understand how to make assessment decisions;
  6. To understand own contribution to the quality assurance of assessment;
  7. To understand how to manage information relating to assessment of occupational competence;
  8. To understand the legal and good practice requirements in relation to assessment.

This qualification is offered through NCFE or HABC and is regulated by Ofqual.
 Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles & Practices of Assessment (There is no mention of the mode of study on the certificate – Learners get the same certificate whether they attend the class-based course or the online course or does the program with any Awarding Organisation)